A new (and historic) experience I will not soon forget

This morning, I played reporter.  Normally, as a topical journalist, I gather information on things, make them into something readable and send them along to post without much fanfare.  But this morning, at the behest of both HuffingtonPost.com and Examiner.com, I attended an inaugural event to give readers a play-by-play of what I witnessed first-hand.

A group of people gather at a  Sacramento neighborhood gallery to watch the 44th President of the United States and first African American Commander-in-Chief sworn into office. Founded in 2004, the gallery, dubbed “40 Acres”  (as in the historical promise of “40 acres and a mule” for freed slaves) is situated in a ethnically diverse neighborhood nestled within the state capital.  The walls of the gallery are teeming with outstanding examples of African- American and minority art as part of Sacramento Mayor Kevin Johnson’s St. Hope Foundation.

Making it there by 8 am, I was grateful for coffee and pastries after battling rush-hour traffic. But soon after I downed my morning brew, I realized I was in no ordinary place. I was in the midst of history being made.  As I listened to heartfelt “amens”,  “uh-huhs” and “right-ons,”  during the pre-oath moments, I began to tap away on my laptop, recounting as quickly as I could when applause erupted as speeches and musical presentations ensued.  And when President Barack Obama gave his inaugural speech, I could tell I was in the midst of something special indeed.

Years from now, I hope I may be able to tell my grandchildren where I was on this day: not just witnessing the day’s historic events, but reporting on one small but interesting event for all to read and learn about, even if  merely a local gathering.  For in the eyes, the faces and the comments I was privy to this morning, I could see —  that in some way that I could not quite put my finger on — the world had indeed changed right before my eyes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dena's Lady Boomer Column and personal musings

Leave a Reply

